د جميل تلحوق

Statesman

advanced divider

ولد الدكتور جميل حسين تلحوق في عاليه عام 1884.

ولد في واحدة من أبرز "العائلات المؤسسة" في عاليه ، واستمر في تقليد عائلته المتمثل في الخدمة المتفانية للمجتمع ، حتى وفاته في عام 1957.

حسين محمود تلحوق و محمود حسين تلحوق

ساهم والده حسين محمود تلحوق (1846-1916) في تطوير الخط الحديدي من بيروت إلى دمشق ، وكان أول من أدرك وشجع إمكانات السياحة والتجارة في عاليه.

 

قام ببناء سوق -تجاري في- عاليه ، مع أكثر من 20 متجرًا تجاريًا ، والتي لا تزال قائمة حتى اليوم.

تبرعت والدة جميل تلحوق ، زلفة أسعد تلحوق ، بأرض في شارع عاليه الرئيسي أقيمت عليه محطة القطار.

 

أخوانه محمود وحسين وثلاث أخوات لطيف وشريفي وأميليا.

 

كان شقيقه محمود (1872-1960) أول رئيس لبلدية عاليه ، وكان مسؤولاً عن جلب المياه إلى القرية من حمانا.

advanced divider

تلقى جميل تلحوق تعليمه الابتدائي في مدرسة سوق الغرب . ثم انتقل إلى مدرسة الشويفات حيث حصل على الشهادة الثانوية الإعدادية عام 1899.

 

عند إتمامه دراسته ، التحق بالكلية السورية البروتستانتية (التي عُرفت لاحقًا باسم الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت) ، وتخرج منها كطبيب في تموز (يوليو) 1905.

لم يكن قد بلغ الحادية والعشرين من عمره بعد ، مما يمثل مشكلة قانونية لأنه لا يحق له الحصول على شهادته النهائية. وقررت إدارة الجامعة أن تقدم له شهادته في حفل التخرج على أن يتم أخذها منه فورًا ، ثم إعادتها إليه بعد ثلاثة أشهر عند بلوغه السن المقررة.

 

أبوه، حسين تلحوق أراد منه أن يدخل كلية الطب ، نظرًا للمكانة العالية للأطباء في ذلك الوقت.

 

كان ميل جميل الشخصي هو دراسة القانون. في ذلك الوقت ، لم تكن هناك كلية حقوق في لبنان ، مما كان سيضطره إلى السفر إلى اسطنبول للدراسة. فضل عدم مغادرة لبنان في ذلك الوقت.

 

أجبر على الانصياع لهذا الواقع ، استجاب لطلب والده.

المدرسة الطبية في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت - 1905
advanced divider

في عام 1922 انتُخب جميل تلحوق رئيساً لبلدية عاليه بالتزكية ، وظل في هذا المنصب حتى عام 1927 ، حيث تخلى عنها بسبب مخاوف النيابة.

 

في عام 1924 تزوج من سامية حمد تلحوق ابنة خاله الشيخ حمد تلحوق من عيتات.

 

قاموا معًا بتربية ولدين - عفيف وسامي. تخرج عفيف من الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت في العلوم السياسية والتاريخ والاقتصاد عام 1950 ، وتخرج سامي أيضًا من الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت ، وحصل على إجازة في الكيمياء ، ثم الدكتوراه (الكيمياء الفيزيائية) من الولايات المتحدة عام 1966.

 

التحق جميل تلحوق بأبنائه بالجامعة عام 1947 ، حيث ذهب مع عائلته إلى بيروت واستقر فيها حتى عام 1949 ، دون الانخراط في السياسة أو الأعمال التجارية.

advanced divider

عام 1943 نجت منطقة عاليه من مواجهات دامية بفضل الدكتور جميل طلحوق الذي حذر من وصول القوات الفرنسية التي تستعد لمهاجمة المنطقة ، وحصل عليها من الجنرال ادوارد لويس سبيرز (الذي نصبته حكومة الاستقلال ، وكان يستخدم منزل الأميرمجيد أرسلان - الآن - متحف فيصل أرسلان - كمقر له) انسحاب الجنود الذين كانوا في طريقهم للاندماج ليصطدموا بالسكان المدنيين.

الجنرال إدوارد لويس سبيرز - منزل مير مجيد أرسلان - 1943
advanced divider

في 1952 - 1954 تولى منصب رئيس بلدية عاليه بناء على طلب وإصرار المواطنين ، ثم تخلى عن المنصب طواعية بسبب اعتلال صحته وتدهور حالته الجسدية.

عمل جميل تلحوق في النيابة العامة لمدة اثنتي عشرة سنة ، عُيّن خلالها وزيراً للتموين والزراعة في الوزارة الثالثة (للرئيس الراحل عبد الحميد كرامي ، من 9 كانون الثاني (يناير) 1945 إلى 22 آب (أغسطس) 1945). كان هذا خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، عندما هدد شبح المجاعة لبنان مرة أخرى. لعب الدكتور جميل تلحوق دورًا أساسيًا في ضمان توفير المؤن للمواطنين.

كما عيّن وزيراً للصحة العامة في الوزارة الرابعة (للرئيس الراحل سامي الصلح) التي تبعت وزارة عبد الحميد كرامي مباشرة من 22 آب (أغسطس) 1945 إلى 22 أيار (مايو) 1946.

أجرى تحسينات كبيرة على وزارتي الصحة والزراعة خلال فترة عمله ، وأنشأ عيادات محلية ومستشفى في بعبدا.

 

 

PRESIDENT BECHARA EL KHOURY, PRIME MINISTER SAMI SOLH, MINISTER OF HEALTH JAMIL TALHOUK - ANJAR, NOVEMBER 1945

كان جميل تلحوق محل إعجاب وإعجاب كبير من الرئيس الراحل عبد الحميد كرامي ، لدرجة أنه عندما ذهب كرامي إلى مصر لحضور اجتماعات المؤتمر العربي ، عيّن الدكتور جميل تلحوق مسؤولاً عن مجلس النواب ، رغم أنه لم يكن نائبه - هو كان السياسي الدرزي الوحيد الذي شغل هذا المنصب على الإطلاق.

عبد الحميد كرامي
advanced divider

كان الدكتور جميل تلحوق خطيبًا جريئًا في مجلس النواب ، كما تدل على ذلك محاضر جلسات المجلس. في الجلسة الثالثة التي عقدت بعد ظهر يوم الخميس 7 تشرين الأول 1943 برئاسة الرئيس الراحل صبري حمادة وعضوية كل من السكرتيرتين السيد رفعت قزون وإميل لحود ، وبحضور جميع أعضاء المجلس. صعد النواب رياض الصلح رئيسا للوزارة آنذاك ، الدكتور جميل تلحوق على المنبر وألقى هذا الخطاب:

سبق للبلاد أن استمعت لبيانات ورد فيها الكثير من الوعود، وكثر فيها التبجح بالاستقلال، فأَيَّ استقلال تتبجحون به؟ والحقيقة أن ما كانوا يسمونه استقلالاً ليس إلا استغلالاً بأيدي فئات معلومة كانت تحتكر الحقوق العامة لأنفسها دون غيرها من سواد الشعب اللبناني . . أين هو استقلالنا؟ أهذا الذي منعنا من التصرف بأمورنا الخارجية الكبيرة منها والصغيرة؟ أهذا الذي منعنا من التصرف بأمورنا الداخلية الكبيرة والصغيرة؟ أهذا الذي خلقوا منه التشريع على هواهم لخلق القوانين الخاصة التي مكنت ذوي الطالع الحسن من تلقف النفع بحرمان الأمة من حرية الزراعة والتجارة والصناعة، أهذا الذي يعملون فيه بدستور مقيّد ببعض موادّ تبطل معناه؟ والقول الصحيح الصادق أن بعض مواد الدستور هي غلّ في عنق الأمة.

إن دستوراً خُطَّ في وقت كانت الحالة العالمية معقّدة فجعلته السلطة المنتدبة موافقاً لأهوائها، فهل من الجائز أن يبقى على حاله دون تعديل يجعله موافقاً للمصلحة العليا العامة بحيث لا يباح للفئات المحتكرة أن تتحكم بالشعب وتجعله طوع مآربها!!

وبالنتيجة أجعل كلمتي هذه اقتراحاً أطرحه على المجلس. أطلب فيه إليه إعادة النظر في الدستور، وتعديله، بشكل يؤكد حقيقة استقلال البلاد يقضي بجلاء الجيوش الأجنبية عن أرضها ويعيد للأمة سيادتها ويكفل لها حقها في حرية الحياة. عندئذٍ نفخر بأن لنا استقلالاً نرفع به الرأس.

إن كلماته مناسبة اليوم كما كانت عام 1943.

RIAD EL SOLH & SABRI HAMADEH - PARLIAMENT HOUSE - BEIRUT - 1943
advanced divider

كانت مواقف جميل تلحوق معروفة في مجلس النواب ، فقد عارض الانتداب الفرنسي ، وأعلن استقلال لبنان على أسس واضحة وراسخة.

 

كان رأيه في المتفاخرين واضحًا:

 

إن الذين تبجحوا ادعوا أنهم أعطوا لبنان استقلاله. قد أخطأوا الحقيقة فالذي حسبوه استقلالاً هو ما احتكرته العصابة السياسية دون الشعب

 

كان جميل تلحوق وطنيًا لا يتزعزع ولا يرقى إليه الشك. لم يكن معروفاً أبداً أنه يخرج عن طريق النزاهة ، رغم الإغراءات المختلفة التي تعرض له ، ولم يغمض عينيه عما لم يكن مقتنعاً بعدالة وإنصافه.

 

في المؤتمر الذي عقد في قرية عيناب ، كان جميل تلحوق من أشد المؤيدين لتأسيس حكومة الفيصلي العربية. لقد اتخذ موقفا جريئا ضد الانتداب الفرنسي.

 

اتخذ مكانة بارزة في دعم الثورة العربية السورية بقيادة السلطان باشا الأطرش ورفاقه عام 1925.

سلطان باشا الأطرش 1925

وطالب الدكتور جميل تلحوق دائما بالوقوف مع الدول العربية في السياسة العامة وخاصة سوريا المجاورة.

 

وبشأن القطيعة التي حصلت بين لبنان وسوريا في عهد رئيسها خالد العظم ، كان جميل تلحوق ضد القطيعة ، وكان أول من دعا إلى التعاون الاقتصادي بين البلدين.

 

خلال فترة عمله كرئيس لبلدية عاليه ، قام ببناء الطرق ، وتوسيع الشوارع العامة ، ومد الكهرباء إلى عاليه ، وإنشاء شبكة الصرف الصحي. أسس مشروع تزويد مياه بخشتاي عاليه ، حيث سعى لتأمين المياه للمستشفى الأرمني في العزونية ، ووضع الأسس لإمداد الباروك بالمياه إلى عاليه.

 

عمل الدكتور جميل تلحوق على بلوغ ذروة الاستقلال والسيادة والحرية والكرامة في لبنان. قال هذه الكلمات بخصوص الانتخابات في بلاده:

 

يجب على الشعب اللبناني أن يرشح النائب الذي يختاره هو أي الشعب، ويجب على الشعب أن يفرض مشيئته على رجاله المخلصين

advanced divider

عُرف جميل تلحوق بأنه رجل ذو شخصية قوية ، وعميق في الفكر ، وناضج في الثقافة ، وصادق ، ومع نفسه ومع الآخرين ، وغير خائف من قول الحقيقة ، مهما كانت ، وإنسانية إلى أقصى الحدود ، وكريم ، ومساومة.

 

كان بعيد النظر وحاد الذكاء. الذين جلسوا للتحدث معه شعروا أنهم في حضرة رجل عظيم ، رجل ذو نظريات علمية وسياسية وفكرية وثقافية واسعة ، تحدث بسهولة في مواضيع متنوعة ودعم نظرياته بأدلة قاطعة ومقنعة. الحجج.

 

وحكمته ومشورته استمدها أقرانه من جميع أنحاء لبنان ، ولا سيما منطقة عاليه ، ومن الشوف ومن المتن. كان من المعتاد أن يطلب نصيحته في القضايا الهامة والحاسمة ، السياسية والاجتماعية ، كلما دعت الحاجة ، وعصفت رياح الشدة بالبلاد.

1949 - لقاء الدكتور جميل طلحوك مع الشيخ الدرزي - الشيخ أبو سلمان نعمان شميت (أقصى اليسار) والشيخ أبو يوسف علي الفسيح والشيخ أبو يوسف أمين اللويح - أولاد (فار اليمين) وشفيق
advanced divider

كما أقام جميل تلحوق صداقة حميمة مع زعيم الحزب الاشتراكي كمال بك جنبلاط. مع اقتراب نهاية حياة جميل تلحوق ، قام كمال جنبلاط بزيارته أسبوعياً ، حيث ناقشوا اهتمامات واحتياجات أهالي منطقة الجبل ، وإيجاد أرضية مشتركة في رغبتهم في مساعدة مواطنيهم ، ومحاربة الفساد والتمييز.

Kamal Joumblatt and Jamil Talhouk
كمال بيك جنبلاط والدكتور جميل تلحوك
advanced divider
الشيخ آل العقل محمد أبو شقرة

توفي جميل تلحوق في صبيحة يوم الاثنين 24 حزيران سنة 1957.

وحضر جنازته وفود رسمية عديدة من جميع أنحاء لبنان ومن قرى الجبل وبيروت. وترأس المراسم الدينية شيخ عقل الدرزي الشيخ محمد أبو شقرة والشيخ علي عبد اللطيف.

After the prayer, the orators followed with the memorial service, including Mr. Hani Baz, Mr. Ramez al-Rayess, Mr. Rafiq Wahbi, Mr. Ali al-Haj, and the poet Mr. Farhan al-Aridi (of the village of بيصور) تأبينه.

advanced divider

أقيمت مراسم تذكارية في أواخر شهر أغسطس من ذلك العام ، في بهو فندق طانيوس في عاليهوحضره حشد كبير من المواطنين والمثقفين وكبار الكتاب والشعراء والسياسيين ، تحدث فيها كل من:

The writer, politician and intellectual, Dr. Fouad Sarouf, the honourable Kamal Beyk Jumblatt, Mr Hani Baz, Dr. Elias Chibil El-Khoury, Ambassador Khalil Takieddine, المحامي والناشط شكيب جابر

DR FOUAD SAROUF, SHAKIB JABER, KAMAL JOUMBLATT, KHALIL TAKIEDDINE, ELIAS SHIBIL EL KHOURY - HOTEL TANIOS, ALEY - 1957
advanced divider

هذا مقتطف من خطاب التأبين الذي قدمه الدكتور فؤاد صروف في حفل تأبين الدكتور جميل تلحوق:

كان جميل تلحوق ذلك الطبيب الممتاز علماً وخلقاً في جميع أدوار حياته. وقد أدرك جميل تلحوق بفطرته الصافية المتأصلة في نسب عريق وتقاليد كريمة أن يمين أبقراط أهابت به يوم رفع يمناه على اتخاذها دستوراً ونهجاً، أن يبيح علمه وتجربته لكل طالب فلا يرد عن بابه أحداً، وأن يكون ذا نجدة فلا تثنيه مشقة عن أن يهرع إلى من كان في حاجة إلى طبه، وأن يغلبّ جوهره إنساناً وطبيباً على كل طائفية أو تفرقة أو تمييز. وقد عزز من أثر هذه اليمين في نفسه فهم صحيح لطبيعة المجتمع الحديث، وأن العلم والتبعة الاجتماعية قد صارا في هذا العصر صنوين متلازمين أو ينبغي أن يتلازما .

استجاب جميل تلحوق إلى دواعي الفطرة الصافية، والفهم السليم ، واليمين المقدسة، استجابة الجوهر الكريم لأشعة الضياء. فكان يطبب كل محتاج ولا يقبل أجراً، وكثيراً ما كان يضيف إلى طبابته دواء يؤدي ثمنه من جيبه أو من صندوق صيدليته ورفداً يرفد به مريضه .

الطبيب في نظره ليس من يعالج العلل التي تنزل بالناس وحسب، بل هو أيضاً رجل يدرس مشكلاتهم الاجتماعية التي قد تورثهم العلل، فيحلها أو يسعى إلى حلها حتى يتجنّبوا العلل وعواقبها.

وهو مرب يعلم الناس أن الصحة ليست امتناع المرض وحسب بل هي في الجسد والعقل جميعاً حسن حال يتيح للمرء أن يؤدي أفضل ما يستطيع يؤديه لأسرته وقومه، ثم هو علاوة على هذا وذاك محاسب يعلم بفضل ما تعلم ومارس أن الناس هم رأس المال الأصيل ولن تغني عنهم موارد طبيعية مها تكن غنية وسائغة .

بين السلف الصالح الذي تحدر منه جميل تلحوق والمواطن الصالح الذي صار إليه جميل تلحوق، طريق طويل وعر مهدَّ وعره بالعمل دون القول، فقد كان يعرف قول علي رضي الله عنه «أن من أبطأ به عمله لم يسرع به نسبه» .

وذلل صعابه بالخدمة دون الدعوة ذاكراً أن الداعي بلا عمل كالرامي بلا وتر. وهو طريق سلكه من مجد النسب إلى مجد الحسب، فكان في سلسلة الحياة ، حلقة قوية تصل بين ماضٍ مجيد وحاضر يتشرف برغم آلامه ومحنه، من ذروة هذا الجيل أبعد الآفاق

وهذا فضل يؤتيه الله من يشاء ويستحقه من أبنائه . ألم تنعم علي الحياة فيما أنعمت، بأن أتاحت لي أن أعرف الدكتور جميل تلحوق معرفة وثيقة، وأن عرفت من أبنائه وأبناء عمومته وخؤولته الذين حملوا رسالة المحبة في لبنان أجيالاً، متلاحقة فريقاً من الرجال ينزلون في نفسي أعلى منزلة وأكرمها، ولكنني أحسست وقد انكببت على رسم هذه الصورة بأنني صرت أشرف إنساناً وأكبر إذا ازددت معرفة بقدره بين الرجال وبفضله قدوة يقتدى بها بين المواطنين

فنحن أبناء الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت، أينما حطت بنا مواكب الحياة ، يشرفنا أن الدكتور جميل تلحوق كان أخاً وزميلا لنا، وابناً من أبناء الجامعة الأوفياء لمثلها ورسالتها في العلم والخدمة والمواطنية الصالحة ».

كان الدكتور جميل تلحوق من الرجال القلائل الذين برهنوا عن وطنية صادقة، ورأي سديد، واندفاع للعمل وحب للوطن. من رئاسة البلدية، إلى النيابة، إلى الوزارة، إلى فتحه العيادة والصيدلية، إلى الخدمات الاجتماعية التي كان يؤديها إلى مواطنيه، كان فيها العزم الذي لا يلين، والرجل الذي لا يتوقف عن الحركة

وإننا ندعو الله أن تكون سيرة حياته، ومآثره، وأفضاله، ومبراته، مثالاً أعلى نحتذيه، ونبراساً مضيئاً نهتدي به في الجمع بين المعرفة والفضيلة، بين القول والعمل، بين الاستمساك بتراث أصيل والإقدام على مستقبل مجهول، حتى نكون لمجتمعنا ووطننا خير مشعل نضيء به الآفاق. وبهذا نكون حقاً أبناء بررة، نعلي شأن الوطن والأمة العربية .

advanced divider
Heather & Sami Eljurdi

Heather & Sami Eljurdi

Founders • Archivists • Editors

advanced divider
City of Aley

More History & Heritage

advanced divider
City of Aley

اكتشف عاليه

advanced divider
City of Aley

دليل الاعمال

advanced divider
City of Aley

الاحداث

advanced divider
arالعربية

Dr Jamil Talhouk

Statesman

advanced divider

Dr Jamil Hussein Talhouk was born in Aley in 1884.

He was born into one of the most prominent “founding families” of Aley, and continued his family’s tradition of selfless service to the community, until his passing in 1957.

HUSSEIN MAHMOUD TALHOUK & MAHMOUD HUSSEIN TALHOUK

His father, Hussein Mahmoud Talhouk (1846-1916), contributed to the development of the railway from Beirut to Damascus, and was the first to recognise and encourage the potential of tourism and commerce in Aley.

 

He built the Souk – Sayha – Aley, with more than 20 merchant shops, which still stand today.

Jamil Talhouk’s mother, Zalfa Assad Talhouk, donated land in the main street of Aley on which the train station was erected.

 

He had two brothers – Mahmoud and Hussein, and three sisters – Latifi, Sharifi and Amilia.

 

His brother Mahmoud (1872-1960) was the first mayor of Aley, responsible for bringing to the village the supply of water from Hammana.

Facebook
WhatsApp
Twitter
LinkedIn
Telegram
advanced divider

Jamil Talhouk received his primary education at Souk El Gharb School. He then moved to the Choueifat School, where he obtained the preparatory secondary certificate in the year 1899.

 

Upon completion, he entered the Syrian Protestant College (later known as the American University of Beirut), where he graduated as a doctor in July 1905.

He was not yet 21 years of age, which presented a legal problem as he was not entitled to be granted his final certificate. The university administration decided to present him with his certificate at the graduation party, provided that it was taken from him immediately after, and then returned to him three months later, upon reaching the prescribed age.

 

His father, Hussein Talhouk wanted him to enter medical school, given the high status of doctors at the time.

 

Jamil’s personal inclination was to study law. At the time, there was no law school in Lebanon, which would have necessitated him travelling to Istanbul to study. He preferred not to leave Lebanon at that time.

 

Forced to submit to this reality, he responded to his father’s request.

AUB MEDICAL SCHOOL - 1905
advanced divider

In 1922, Jamil Talhouk was elected mayor of Aley by acclamation, and he remained in this position until 1927, when he abandoned it due to the concerns of the prosecution.

 

In 1924, he married Samia Hamad Talhouk, the daughter of his maternal uncle, Sheikh Hamad Talhouk from Aytat.

 

Together they raised two sons – Afif and Sami. Afif graduated from the American University of Beirut in political sciences, history and economics in 1950, and Sami also graduated from the AUB, obtaining a chemistry degree, then a doctorate (Physical Chemistry) from the USA in 1966.

 

With his sons attending university, in 1947 Jamil Talhouk went to Beirut with his family and settled there until 1949, without engaging in politics or business.

advanced divider

In 1943, the area of Aley escaped bloody encounters, thanks to Dr. Jamil Talhouk, who warned of the arrival of French troops making preparations to attack the region, and obtained from General Edward Louis Spears (who was installed by the government of independence, and was using the home of Emir Majid Arslan – now the Faisal Arslan Museum – as his headquarters), the withdrawal of soldiers who were on course to combine to collide with the civilian population.

GENERAL EDWARD LOUIS SPEARS - HOME OF MIR MAJID ARSLAN - 1943
advanced divider

In 1952 – 1954 he once again assumed the role of mayor of Aley, at the request and insistence of the citizens, and then voluntarily relinquished the position, due to his ill health and deteriorating physical condition.

Jamil Talhouk served the Public Prosecution Office for twelve years, during which time he was appointed Minister of Supply and Agriculture in the third cabinet (of the late President Abdul Hamid Karami, from January 9, 1945 to August 22, 1945). This was during the Second World War, when the spectre of famine once again threatened Lebanon. Dr Jamil Talhouk played an integral role in ensuring the supply of provisions to citizens.

He was also appointed Minister of Public Health in the fourth ministry (of the late President Sami El Solh), which immediately followed the ministry of Abdul Hamid Karami, from August 22, 1945 to May 22, 1946.

He made great improvements to the ministries of health and agriculture during his tenures, establishing district clinics and a hospital in Baabda.

 

 

PRESIDENT BECHARA EL KHOURY, PRIME MINISTER SAMI SOLH, MINISTER OF HEALTH JAMIL TALHOUK - ANJAR, NOVEMBER 1945

Jamil Talhouk was greatly admired and loved by the late President Abdel Hamid Karami, so much so that when Karami went to Egypt to attend Arab Congress meetings, he appointed Dr Jamil Talhouk in charge of the Parliament, even though he was not his deputy – he was the only Druze politician to have ever held that position.

ABDUL HAMID KARAMI
advanced divider

Dr Jamil Talhouk was a daring orator in the House of Representatives, evidenced by the minutes of the House meetings. In the third session held on the afternoon of Thursday, 7 October, 1943, under the chairmanship of the late President Sabri Hamadeh, and the membership of each of the two secretaries, Mr. Rifaat Qazoun and Emile Lahoud, in the presence of all the deputies, Riad El Solh as head of the ministry at the time, Dr. Jamil Talhouk ascended the pulpit and gave this speech:

“Where is our independence? Is this what prevented us from dealing with our external affairs, big and small? Is this what prevented us from dealing with our internal affairs, big and small? Is this the one from whom they created legislation according to their whims to create special laws that enabled those with good fortune to benefit by depriving the nation of freedom of agriculture, trade and industry? The correct and honest saying is that some articles of the constitution are a tyranny for the nation.

“If a constitution was written at a time when the global situation was complicated, and the mandated authority made it conform to its whims, is it permissible for it to remain as it is without amendment that makes it compatible with the higher public interest so that the monopolistic groups are not allowed to control the people and make them obey their goals!!

“As a result, I make this statement as a proposal that I will put before the Council. I ask them to reconsider and amend the constitution, in a way that confirms the reality of the country’s independence, requires the evacuation of foreign armies from its land, restores the nation’s sovereignty and guarantees its right to freedom of life. Then we will be proud to have the independence with which to lift our heads.”

His words are as relevant today as they were in 1943.

RIAD EL SOLH & SABRI HAMADEH - PARLIAMENT HOUSE - BEIRUT - 1943
advanced divider

Jamil Talhouk’s positions were well known in the House of Representatives, he opposed the French Mandate, and he declared Lebanon’s independence on clear and solid foundations.

His opinion of the braggarts was clear:

“Those who brag claimed that they gave Lebanon its independence. They erred in the truth, for what they considered independence was the monopoly of the political gang, not the people … “

Jamil Talhouk was considered an unwavering and unquestionable patriot. He was known never to deviate from the path of integrity, despite the various temptations that were presented to him, and he did not close his eyes to that which he was not convinced of its justice and fairness.

At the conference held in the village of Ainab, Jamil Talhouk was one of the most ardent supporters of the establishment of the Arab Faisali government. He took a bold stand against the French mandate.

He adopted a prominent position in support of the Syrian Arab revolution led by Sultan Pasha al-Atrash and his companions in 1925.

SULTAN PASHA AL-ATRASH - 1925

Dr Jamil Talhouk always called for standing with the Arab countries in public policy, especially neighbouring Syria.

Regarding the estrangement that occurred between Lebanon and Syria during the reign of its president, Khaled al-Azm, Jamil Talhouk was against estrangement, and he was the first to advocate economic cooperation between the two countries.

During his tenure as mayor of Aley, he built roads, widened the public streets, extended electricity to Aley, and laid the sewage network. He established the Bkhechtay-Aley water supply project, as he sought to secure water for the Armenian Hospital in Al-Azounieh, and laid the foundations for the Barouk water supply to Aley.

Dr Jamil Talhouk worked to reach the pinnacle of independence, sovereignty, freedom and dignity in Lebanon. He spoke these words regarding elections in his country:

“The Lebanese people must nominate the representative of their choice, which is the people, and the people must impose their will on their loyal men.”

advanced divider

Jamil Talhouk was known as a man of strong character, deep in thought, mature in culture, honest, with himself and with others, unafraid to speak the truth, whatever it was, humane to the extreme, generous, and compromising.

 

He was far-sighted and sharp-witted. Those who sat to talk to him felt that they were in the presence of a great man, a man of extensive scientific, political, intellectual and cultural theories, who spoke with ease on a variety of topics and supported his theories with conclusive proofs and compelling arguments.

 

His wisdom and counsel were sought by his peers, from all over Lebanon, especially the Aley region, from the Chouf, and from the Matn. It was customary to seek his advice on important and crucial issues, political and social, whenever the need arose, and the winds of distress swept the country.

1949 - DR JAMIL TALHOUK MEETING WITH DRUZE SHEIKHS - SHEIKH ABU SALMAN NAAMAN SHMAIT (FAR LEFT), SHEIKH ABU YUSEF ALI Al-FAQEIH, SHEIKH ABU YUSEF AMIN AL-FAQEIH - BOYS (FAR RIGHT) - SHAFIK OBEID & SOHEIL TALHOUK
advanced divider

Jamil Talhouk also enjoyed a close friendship with Socialist Party leader, Kamal Beyk Joumblatt. Towards the end of Jamil Talhouk’s life, Kamal Joumblatt visited him on a weekly basis, where they would discuss the interests and needs of the people of the Mountain region, finding common ground in their desire to help their fellow citizens, and fight against corruption and discrimination.

Kamal Joumblatt and Jamil Talhouk
KAMAL BEYK JOUMBLATT & DR JAMIL TALHOUK
advanced divider
SHEIKH AL AQL MOHAMMED ABU SHAQRA

Jamil Talhouk passed away on the morning of Monday, 24 June, 1957.

His funeral was attended by many official delegations from all over Lebanon, the villages of the mountain area, and Beirut. The religious ceremony was presided over by Sheikh Aql of the Druze, Sheikh Muhammad Abu Shaqra, and Sheikh Ali Abdul Latif.

After the prayer, the orators followed with the memorial service, including Mr. Hani Baz, Mr. Ramez al-Rayess, Mr. Rafiq Wahbi, Mr. Ali al-Haj, and the poet Mr. Farhan al-Aridi (of the village of Baissour) eulogizing him.

advanced divider

A memorial ceremony was held late in the month of August of that year, in the lobby of Tanios Hotel in Aley, attended by a large crowd of citizens, intellectuals, senior writers, poets and politicians, in which each of the following spoke:

The writer, politician and intellectual, Dr. Fouad Sarouf, the honourable Kamal Beyk Jumblatt, Mr Hani Baz, Dr. Elias Chibil El-Khoury, Ambassador Khalil Takieddine, the lawyer and activist Shakib Jaber

DR FOUAD SAROUF, SHAKIB JABER, KAMAL JOUMBLATT, KHALIL TAKIEDDINE, ELIAS SHIBIL EL KHOURY - HOTEL TANIOS, ALEY - 1957
advanced divider

This is an excerpt of the eulogy presented by Dr. Fouad Sarouf at the memorial service for Dr Jamil Talhouk:

“Jamil Talhouk was an excellent doctor in knowledge and moral character in all the phases of his life. Jamil Talhouk, with his pure instinct, rooted in ancient lineage and noble traditions, realized that the oath of Hippocrates, called upon him on the day he raised his oath to adopt it as a constitution and an approach, to allow his knowledge and experience to be available to every student, so that no one would be turned away from his door, and that he be of assistance, so that no hardship would discourage him from rushing to whoever was in need – For he who needs medicine, and for his essence as a human being and a doctor to prevail over all sectarianism, segregation or discrimination. The impact of this oath reinforced in him a correct understanding of the nature of modern society, and that science and social responsibility have become one in this era, intertwined and should be inseparable.

“Jamil Talhouk responded to the motives of pure instinct, sound understanding, and the sacred oath, the response of the noble Essence to the rays of light. He used to treat everyone in need and did not accept payment, and he often added medicine to his service, the price of which would be paid from his own pocket or from his pharmacy’s box.

“In his view, the doctor is not only the one who treats the ills that afflict people, but he is also a man who studies their social problems that may be inherited by the ills, and he solves them or seeks to solve them so that they avoid the ills and their consequences.

“He is an educator who teaches people that health is not only the prevention or abstinence of disease, but rather it is in the body and mind all in good state that allows a person to perform the best that he can for his family and his people, then he is in addition to this and that an accountant who knows thanks to what he has learned and practiced that people are the original capital and he will not dispense with them, no matter how rich and palatable natural resources are.

“Between the righteous ancestors from whom Jamil Talhouk descended and the righteous citizen to whom Jamil Talhouk became, there is a long and rugged road, whose bumps were paved with action rather than words, for he knew the saying of Ali, may God be pleased with him, “He who slows down his work does not speed up his lineage.”

“He eased his hardships and overcame his difficulties by serving without calling, remembering that a caller without action is like an archer without a bowstring. It is a path that he took from the glory of lineage to the glory of reckoning, so he was in the chain of life, a strong link that connectsbetween a glorious past and an honorable present, despite its pains and tribulations, from the height of his generation to farther horizons.

“This is a bounty that God bestows on whomever He wills and deserves from among His children. Didn’t life bless with what it did, by allowing me to get to know Dr. Jamil Talhouk intimately, and to know from one of his sons, cousins and his aunt who carried the message of love in Lebanon for generations, following a group of men who descended in me to the highest and most honorable status, but I felt that I had set out to draw this picture –  This image is that I have become a nobler and greater human being, if I increase the knowledge of his worth among men and thanks to him being an example to be emulated among the citizens.”

“We are the sons of the American University of Beirut, wherever the processions of life take us, we are honored that Dr. Jamil Talhouk was our brother and colleague, and one of the sons of the university loyal to its ideals and mission in science, service and good citizenship.”

“Dr. Jamil Talhouk was one of the few men who demonstrated sincere patriotism, a sound opinion, a determination to work and a love for the country. From the mayor of the municipality, to the prosecution, to the ministry, to opening the clinic and pharmacy, to the social services that he performed for his citizens, there was an unyielding determination and a man who never stopped moving.

“We pray to God that the biography of his life, his exploits, his virtues, and his righteousness, be a supreme example for us to follow, and a shining beacon to guide us in combining knowledge and virtue, between words and deeds, between adherence to an authentic heritage and embarking on an unknown future, so that we may be for our society and our country the best torch by which to light the horizons … In this way, we will be truly be the son of righteousness, raising the status of the homeland and the Arab nation.”

advanced divider
Picture of Heather & Sami Eljurdi

Heather & Sami Eljurdi

Founders • Archivists • Editors

Facebook
WhatsApp
Twitter
LinkedIn
Telegram
advanced divider
City of Aley

More History & Heritage

advanced divider
City of Aley

Discover Aley

advanced divider
City of Aley

Business Directory

advanced divider
City of Aley

Events

advanced divider
en_GBEnglish (UK)