متحف الحرير

بسوس

advanced divider

الحرير في بسوس

يقع علي بعد 5 كم فقط من وسط مدينه عاليه ، أسفل الطريق المتعرج وتحيط به أشجار الزيتون والمشمش والتوت ، وهو آخر تذكير للبنان علي قيد الاحياء بحقبه ايكولوجيه واقتصاديه ماضيه-متحف الحرير في بسوس.

وقد شيدت هذه العزبة الرائعة من قبل عائله فياض وتعمل بكامل طاقتها كمنشاه لإنتاج الحرير بين 1901 و 1954.

وقام المبني الذي يضم طابقين بتشغيل معصرة زيتون في الدور الأرضي ومصنع لصناعه الحرير في المستوي الأعلى. تركيبه كانت شائعه في ذلك الوقت ، بالنظر إلى ان كلا الصناعتين تتطلب كميات كبيره من الماء الساخن.

واليوم ، يملك متحف الحرير جورج والكسندرا عسيلي. وقاموا بشراء العقار في 1974 ، وزرعوا مئات الأشجار ، وبداوا تدريجيا في ترميم المباني التي مزقتها الحرب والمهملة في "كرخانة" الوحيدة الباقية في لبنان (وهي كلمه تركيه قديمه لمصنع الحرير).

وقد إنشا الزوجان منظمه غير حكوميه-رابطه الذاكرة والتنمية (aMED)-مع بعض الأصدقاء ، وبدات في تحويل مصنع الحرير إلى متحف لتنظيم المعارض والتعليم علي إنتاج الحرير.

وبعد ترميمات واسعه النطاق ، أعيد فتح الموقع كمتحف في 2000 بهدف تسليط الضوء علي اهميه التاريخ القديم لإنتاج الحرير في لبنان والذي كان يبلغ 1,500 عاما ، والذي انتهي عندما أغلقت آخر طاحونة حريريه في السبعينات من القرن الماضي.

وهي الآن قصيدة ليس فقط للعمارة اللبنانية التقليدية والحياة القروية ، بل لحرفه مبدعه ذات قيمه تاريخيه واقتصاديه هامه.

من دوده إلى شرنقه

المناطق الموجودة بالداخل تعرض قصاصات الصحف ، ومجموعات الطوابع من مؤتمر الحرير 1930 في بيروت ، والصناديق العتيقة التي كانت تستخدم لحمل بيض دوده القز من مرسيليا إلى بيروت. هناك عرض مثير للإعجاب من ديدان القز الحية ، في طريقهم لتتحول إلى القردة. وكقصيدة للعديد من العائلات الحريرية المنتشرة في جميع انحاء البلاد ، فان النول التقليدي ، الذي غالبا ما يوجد في الأسر اللبنانية ، معروض. وراء النول هو مساحة المعرض ، مكرسه للمعارض السنوية من جوانب مختلفه من إنتاج الحرير.
  وفي الطابق العلوي ، حيث يمكن للزوار مشاهده الحدائق الرائعة للعقارات الجميلة ، يعرض المتحف اسرار صنع الحرير-بما في ذلك ديدان القز الحية. آلات النسيج المختلفة علي الشاشة ، وعرض الترشيد التدريجي لصناعه كثيفه العمالة عموما.
كل عام ، يفتح متحف الحرير في مايو ، بعد الدورة الموسمية لدوده الحرير. ويظهر المتحف البيئي للزوار كيف يتم إنتاج الحرير ، ويفصل العملية من دوده الحرير إلى شرنقة وكيف يتم استخراج ألياف ونسج من خلال تلوح في الأفق القديمة في الموضوع. فانه يظهر التفاعل القديم بين الناس وبيئتهم لخلق الخيط الطبيعي المطلوب للغاية.

إلى جانب التعلم عن عمليه مفصله من إنتاج الحرير ، من دوده إلى شرنقة إلى الخيط الحرير ، والمتحف هو رحله نقيه إلى طرق غامضه وغير عادية من الطبيعة ، وهو المعلم الثقافي الذي يحاول الحفاظ علي مجد التجارة الماضية ، مذكرا لنا التفاعل بين البشر والحشرات والنباتات والمكافات التي جلبت هذا إلى لبنان لمئات السنتين.

Sericulture اسرار القز

يعود إنتاج الحرير في لبنان إلى العصور الوسطي وفي القرن التاسع عشر أصبح النشاط الرئيسي لقطاع كبير من السكان ، مما خلق تغييرا اجتماعيا واقتصاديا كبيرا في حياه اللبنانيين.

تم تاسيس أول مصنع لصناعه الحرير في لبنان في 1840 في العام التالي في العاصمة اللبنانية ، جبل لبنان ، عندما كان الجبل في تلك الأيام منطقه تتمتع بالحكم الذاتي داخل الامبراطوريه العثمانية.



وفي ال1914 ، يقدر انه كان هناك حوالي 120,000 عامل منسوجات في سوريا ولبنان. وعمل معظمهم في صناعه الحرير. وفي تلك الفترة الذهبية ، أنشئ مكتب الحرير لأداره صناعه الحرير في المنطقة.



ووفقا لدراسة 1968 ، كانت هناك 194 من مصانع الحرير المملوكة للبنانيين في 1893 و1911 لبنان وسوريا تنتج حوالي 524,000 كيلوغرام من الحرير الخام ، معظمها للتصدير إلى ليون ، فرنسا.



اما مصانع الحرير العديدة الأخرى في لبنان فقد تحولت إلى منازل كبيره أو تقليديه أو مهجورة (كما هو الأمر في المصنع في كفرماتتا).

Histoire من الحرير

متحف بسوس هو الوحيد من نوعه في لبنان. قد يبدو هذا غريبا بعض الشيء ، حيث ان العلامات التي تظهر في المتحف ستخبرك بان إنتاج الحرير كان في أحدي الفترات ركيزة الاقتصاد اللبناني ، وهو ما يعد 62 في المائة من جميع الصادرات بين 1872 و 1910.

وقد أدت عوامل عديده إلى تراجع صناعه الحرير في لبنان. عانت المصانع من نقص كبير في عدد النساء – اللواتي سيطرن لفتره طويلة على القوي العاملة في مصانع الحرير – بعد ان وجدوا انهن يكسبون أكثر في العمل ، وهو ما يمكنهن القيام به من المنزل.
عندما تحولت مصانع الحرير من جميع الإناث إلى مساحات العمل المختلطة ، وردود الفعل الغاضبة من السلطات الدينية في جبل لبنان-وهما الأولياء اسمه عون جعجع ، كما يحدث-ردع العديد من الأسر من إرسال النساء للعمل. ان توافر القماش الأرخص مثل الحرير الصناعي والقطن ، وكذلك المنافسة المتزايدة من الدول الأخرى المنتجة للصماش ، قد حدت بنهاية المصانع المتبقية في لبنان.
وكان المشروع الحرير أكثر من قبل 1982-هزم من قبل الإنتاج الضخم الرخيصة من الصين ، التي لا تزال تهيمن علي هذه الصناعة اليوم. وفي تلك السنه ، تم تعليق مكتب الحرير إلى أجل غير مسمي.

"في أوائل القرن العشرين ، كان هناك 3,160,000 شجره توت في لبنان... هو بلا شك اغلي شجره في البلاد ".

مقتطف من كتاب 1881 الفرنسي فيكتور Guerin "بعثه الاتحاد الافريقي في لبنان: خارج القصر

"موسم المجد "

هذا الموجز التاريخي من المتحف يسلط الضوء علي علاقات لبنان بالحرير:
تحت حكم سايروس (556-530 قبل الميلاد) في القرن الرابع قبل الميلاد ، فتحت الامبراطوريه الفارسية الشاسعة طرق القافلة من الحرير الصيني-المنسوجة أو الخام-إلى فينيسيا. ولذلك ، فان التقليد الحرير في لبنان هو أكثر من 2000 سنه ويعود إلى فتره الصبغة الارجوانيه الشهيرة (ourjouan) المستخرجة من قذيفة Murex من قبل الفينيقيين من صيدا وصور والتي كانت تستخدم لإنتاج الحرير الأرجواني الإمبراطوري.
الإمبراطور البيزنطي يوجوستيان العظيم (537-564 ميلادي) أدرك أيضا اهميه إنتاج الحرير وأمر اثنين من الكهنة نيساورينيان للذهاب إلى الشرق للكشف عن سر وراء صنع الحرير. بعد عامين ، عاد الكهنة من اسيا الوسطي ، مع كميه جيده من البيض دوده القز ، والتي كانوا قد مخباه بعناية في قصب الخيزران بهم. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، طورت تربيه الماشية (دوده القز) في الامبراطوريه البيزنطية ، وخاصه في سوريا ولبنان ، حيث تزرع أشجار التوت (الشجرة الذهبية) ويزرع الدودة الحريرية.
وقد طور فخر الدين الثاني معن (1572-1635) ، "الأمير الزراعي" ، الزراعة المتصلة بالحرير وإنشا صناعه تقوم علي إنتاج الحرير. وهذا من شانه ان يضمن الاستقلال الاقتصادي لاماره جبل لبنان ، وذلك بفضل مبادلاتها التجارية مع توسكانا ومودينا. وتم تجميع حزم الحرير في "كايساريه" في دير القمر وكذلك "الخان" في صيدا وطرابلس وبيروت ، حيث سيحصل النساجون المحليون علي إمداداتهم من الحرير. وكان هذا النوع الخاص من الحرير يسمي "بلدي" (حرفيا ، من المنطقة) ، وكان يشتهر بلونه الأصفر الجميل. في القرن التاسع عشر ، نمت سمعه لبنان في تربيه الاحياء المصلية بفضل الدراية التي تطورت بالشراكة مع النساجين الحرير في ليون ، علي الجانب الآخر من البحر الأبيض المتوسط.
…..
في تلك الأيام ، كان موسم الحرير حدثا زراعيا-صناعيا كبيرا للآلاف من اللبنانيين. وشكلت 50 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لجبل لبنان. في الواقع ، قامت عائلات كثيره باستزراع دوده الحرير في تلك الفترة ، وأصبحت تقليدا يسمي "موسم المجد".

الحرير المعارض

ينظم متحف الحرير معرضا سنويا ، يعرض ثقافة الحرير من جميع انحاء العالم. وقد قامت المعارض السابقة بتسليط الأضواء علي صناعه الحرير في الصين والهند والصين الهندية وفيتنام وإيطاليا وفرنسا. 

advanced divider
متحف الحرير بسوس

When & Where

عندما

يفتح يوميا من مايو وحتى أكتوبر ، من الساعة 10 صباحا حتى الساعة 6 مساء ، ما عدا أيام الاثنين. مده الزيارة: حوالي 1 ساعة و 30 دقيقه.
ملاحظه قد تختلف فتره التاريخ. اتصل أولا للحصول علي مزيد من المعلومات.

Phone – 05 940 767

حيث

يقع متحف الحرير أسفل قرية بسوس في منطقه عاليه في جبل لبنان.
ويقع علي بعد 15 كم فقط من بيروت و 4 كم من تقاطع طريق دمشق مع EDL Jamhour.

Picture of Heather & Sami Eljurdi

Heather & Sami Eljurdi

Founders • Archivists • Editors

Facebook
WhatsApp
Twitter
LinkedIn
Telegram
advanced divider
City of Aley

More Arts & Culture

advanced divider
City of Aley

اكتشف عاليه

advanced divider
City of Aley

دليل الاعمال

advanced divider
City of Aley

الاحداث

advanced divider
arالعربية

Bsous Silk Museum

The Secrets of Silk

Ecological, Cultural & Economic History

Silk in

Just 5km from the centre of Aley, down a winding road and surrounded by olive, apricot and mulberry trees, is Lebanon’s last surviving reminder of a bygone ecological and economic era – the Silk Museum in Bsous.

This magnificent estate was built by the Fayad family and fully operational as a silk production facility between 1901 and 1954.

The two-story building operated an olive press on the ground floor and a silk factory on the upper level; a combination that was common at the time, given that both industries required large quantities of hot water.

Today, the Silk Museum is owned by George and Alexandra Asseily. They purchased the property in 1974, planted hundreds of trees, and gradually began to restore the war-torn and neglected buildings into Lebanon’s only surviving “kerkhana” (an old Turkish word for silk factory).

The couple set up an NGO – The Association of Memory and Development (aMED) – with some friends, and began transforming the silk factory into a museum in which to organize exhibitions and educate on silk production.

After extensive restorations, the site was reopened as a museum in 2000 with the aim of highlighting the significance of the 1,500 year old history of silk production in Lebanon, which ended when the last silk mill closed in the 1970s.

It is now an ode not only to traditional Lebanese architecture and village life – but to an iconic craft of important historic and economic value.

From Worm to

The areas inside showcase newspaper clippings, stamp collections from the 1930 Silk Congress in Beirut, and vintage boxes once used to carry silkworm eggs from Marseilles to Beirut. There is an impressive display of live silkworms, on their way to turn into cocoons. And, as an ode to the many silk weaving families spread across the country, a traditional loom, often found in Lebanese households, is on display. Behind the loom is an exhibition space, dedicated to yearly expositions of various aspects of silk production.
  Upstairs, where visitors can view the beautiful estate’s magnificent gardens, the museum showcases the secrets of making silk – including live silkworms.Various weaving machines are on display, showcasing the progressive rationalization of a generally labor-intensive industry.
Every year, The Silk Museum opens in May, following the seasonal cycle of the silk worm. Their eco-museum shows visitors how silk is produced, detailing the process from silk worm to cocoon and how the fibers are extracted and woven through an old loom into thread. It shows the ancient interaction between people and their environment to create the highly desired natural thread.

Besides learning about the detailed process of silk production, from worm to cocoon to silk thread, the museum is a pure voyage into the mysterious and extraordinary ways of nature, a cultural landmark that tries to preserve the glory of a past trade, reminding us of the interaction between humans, insects and plants and the rewards that this brought to Lebanon for hundreds of years.

Sericulture

Silk production in Lebanon goes back to the Middle Ages and in the 19th century it became the main activity for a large section of the population, creating great social and economic change in the lives of the Lebanese.

Lebanon’s first silk factory was established in 1840 in Btater, Mount Lebanon, when in those days the mountain was an autonomous district within the Ottoman Empire.



In 1914, it is estimated that there were roughly 120,000 textile workers in Syria and Lebanon. Most of them worked in the silk industry. In that golden period, a Silk Office was set up to manage the region’s silk industry.



According to a 1968 study, there were 194 Lebanese-owned silk factories in 1893 and by 1911 Lebanon and Syria were producing around 524,000 kilos of raw silk, most of which was for export to Lyon, France.



Lebanon’s numerous other silk factories have either been transformed into grand, traditional style houses, or else abandoned (as in the factory in Kfarmatta).

History

The Bsous museum is the only one of its kind in Lebanon. That may seem a little strange when, as the signs in the museum will tell you, silk production was at one period the pillar of the Lebanese economy, counting for 62 percent of all exports between 1872 and 1910.

Numerous factors led to the decline of Lebanon’s silk industry. Factories suffered from a major shortage of women – who long dominated the silk factories’ workforce – after they found they earned more in lacework, which they could do from home.
When silk factories shifted from all-female to mixed workspaces, angry reactions from Mount Lebanon’s religious authorities – two patriarchs named Aoun and Geagea, as it happens – deterred many families from sending women to work. The availability of cheaper cloth like rayon and cotton, as well as increased competition from other silk producing countries, spelt the end of Lebanon’s remaining factories.
Silk enterprise was over by 1982 – defeated by cheap mass production from China, which still dominates the industry today. That year, the Silk Office was suspended indefinitely.

“In the early 20th century, there were 3,160,000 mulberry trees in Lebanon … it is undoubtedly the most precious tree in the country.”

An excerpt of Frenchman Victor Guerin’s 1881 book “Mission au Liban: Extraits de la Terre Sainte,”

"Season of

This historical brief from the museum sheds light on Lebanon’s ties to silk:
Under the reign of Cyrus (556-530 BC) in the 4th century BC, the vast Persian Empire opened caravan routes of Chinese silk – woven or raw – into Phoenicia. Therefore, the silk tradition in Lebanon is more than two thousand years old and goes back to the period of the famous purple dye (ourjouan) extracted from the Murex shell by the Phoenicians of Sidon and Tyre and which was used to produce imperial purple silk.
The Byzantine Emperor Justinian the Great (537-564 AD) also realized the importance of producing silk and ordered two Nestorian priests to go east to uncover the secret behind silk making. Two years later, the priests returned from Central Asia, with a good quantity of silkworm eggs, which they had carefully hidden in their bamboo canes. From then on, sericulture (silkworm breeding) developed in the Byzantine Empire, especially in Syria and Lebanon, where mulberry trees (the golden tree) were grown and the silk worm was farmed.
Fakhreddine II Ma’an (1572-1635), “The Agronomist Prince”, developed silk related agriculture and established an industry based on the production of silk. This would ensure economic autonomy to the emirate of Mount-Lebanon, thanks to its commercial exchanges with Tuscany and Modena. The silk bundles were grouped in the “Kaysarieh” of Deir el Kamar as well as the “khans” of Sidon, Tripoli and Beirut, where local weavers would get their silk supply. This particular kind of silk was called “baladi” (literally, from the region), and was famed for its beautiful yellow color. In the 19th century, Lebanon’s reputation for sericulture grew thanks to the know-how developed in partnership with the silk weavers of Lyon, on the other side of the Mediterranean.
…..
In those days, the silk season was a great agro-industrial event for thousands of Lebanese. It constituted 50% of the GDP of Mount Lebanon. In fact so many families farmed the silk worm at that period, that it became a tradition called “the season of glory.”

Silk

The Silk Museum holds an annual exhibition, showcasing silk culture from around the world. Past exhibitions have spotlighted the silk industry in China, India, Indo-China, Vietnam, Italy and France. 

Bsous Silk Museum

When & Where

When

Open daily from May through October, 10am to 6pm, except Mondays. Duration of Visits: Approx. 1hr 30mins.
N.B. Date period may vary. Contact first for further information.

Phone – 05 940 767

Where

The Silk Museum is just below the village of Bsous, in the Aley district of Mount Lebanon.
It is just 15km from Beirut and 4km from the Damascus Road junction with EDL Jamhour.

Heather & Sami Eljurdi

Founders • Archivists • Editors

City of Aley

More Arts & Culture

City of Aley

Discover Aley

City of Aley

Business Directory

Submit

Submit Your Event, Business or News

Spread The Word
Business Directory

Business Directory

Submit your Business & Services in District of Aley
Submit Your Business
Events

Events

Submit upcoming & ongoing events in Aley District
Submit Your Event
News

News

Submit News & Views for the District of Aley
Submit Your News
the app is coming soon!
Explore • Experience • Enjoy ... Aley District online from anywhere
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
en_GBEnglish (UK)